Demand Pardons for all Police Torture Survivors

Petition to Demand Governor Pritkzer Pardon All Police Torture Survivors

By the Campaign to Free All Incarcerated Survivors of Police Torture (CFIST), initiated by the Chicago Alliance Against Racist and Political Repression (click here for the list of CFIST endorsers)


Illinois is the only state in the United States that has a Torture Inquiry and Relief Commission (TIRC), created by statute and appointed by the Governor of Illinois, to address a systemic pattern of police torture of mostly Black and Latinx men going back to at least the 1980s.  Chicago is the only city in the United States that has, by city ordinance, apologized for this systemic torture and wrongful conviction of men and women. As part of the reparations package to address this grave injustice, public schools in Chicago are required to teach the history of Chicago police torture in 8th and 12th grades. 

However, many police torture survivors remain in prison decades later, serving life sentences without the possibility of parole. To date, 120 cases of police torture have been acknowledged by the Governor’s Torture Commission. Some of these men – like Gerald Reed – have had their original convictions vacated due to evidence of torture and still remain in prison while their cases wind their way through the courts – a process that can take 10-15 years!  On top of that, the Torture Commission has a backlog of 540 cases. At its current rate, the Commission will take another 50 years to review these cases. How many more wrongfully convicted men and women will die in prison in that time? 

Governor Pritzker has the power to right this wrong with the stroke of a pen and use his executive authority to release those who have been wrongfully convicted due to police torture. Governor Pritzker, the people of Illinois call on you to use your power and pardon all police torture survivors now, before it’s too late!

Who's signing

Lyle Sauer
Lily Terzis
Jada Palmer
Natalie Sager
Mairead Harris
Tim Jordan
Bianca Phipps
Ashley Lemasters
Sheila Martinez
Jennie zayas
Jana mclain
Jen Ellison
Nathaniel Tinker
leah espinoza
Gabriella Chevalier
Stefanie Coleman
Laura Nihill
Erik Wang
Dylan Jones
Erika Perez
Zaya Gillogly
Evelyn Uriarte
Erika Gomez
Asher Brimmer
James Schwartz
Elise Fariello
Anthony LaParry
Rachel Pyon
Nathan Briggs
Hannah Fagan
1,924 signatures

Will you sign?

Showing 1122 reactions

  • Lyle Sauer
    signed 2020-07-10 11:33:43 -0500
  • Lily Terzis
    signed 2020-07-10 11:31:50 -0500
  • Jada Palmer
    signed 2020-07-10 11:30:28 -0500
  • Natalie Sager
    signed 2020-07-10 11:22:45 -0500
  • Mairead Harris
    signed 2020-07-10 11:20:55 -0500
  • Tim Jordan
    signed 2020-07-10 11:19:00 -0500
  • Bianca Phipps
    signed 2020-07-10 11:17:20 -0500
  • Ashley Lemasters
    signed 2020-07-10 11:16:38 -0500
  • Sheila Martinez
    signed via 2020-07-10 11:16:24 -0500
  • Jennie zayas
    signed 2020-07-10 11:10:05 -0500
  • Jana mclain
    signed 2020-07-10 11:07:31 -0500
  • Jen Ellison
    signed 2020-07-10 11:06:51 -0500
  • Nathaniel Tinker
    signed 2020-07-10 11:02:44 -0500
  • leah espinoza
    signed 2020-07-10 11:01:07 -0500
  • Gabriella Chevalier
    signed 2020-07-10 11:00:23 -0500
    Illinois cannot leave wrongly incarcerated people to die!
  • Stefanie Coleman
    signed 2020-07-10 10:59:36 -0500
  • Laura Nihill
    signed 2020-07-10 10:58:58 -0500
  • Erik Wang
    signed 2020-07-10 10:58:28 -0500
  • Dylan Jones
    signed 2020-07-10 10:57:43 -0500
  • Erika Perez
    signed 2020-07-10 10:53:00 -0500
  • Zaya Gillogly
    signed 2020-07-10 10:50:20 -0500
    I demand the release those who have been wrongfully convicted, tortured, and traumatized. I demand the allocation of resources (including my tax dollars) used to harm these individuals to go toward their healing and recovery to make a healthier world.
  • Evelyn Uriarte
    signed 2020-07-10 10:48:01 -0500
  • Erika Gomez
    signed 2020-07-10 10:47:21 -0500
  • Asher Brimmer
    signed 2020-07-10 10:47:17 -0500
  • James Schwartz
    signed 2020-07-10 10:46:36 -0500
  • Elise Fariello
    signed 2020-07-10 10:46:18 -0500
  • Anthony LaParry
    signed 2020-07-10 10:46:16 -0500
  • Rachel Pyon
    signed 2020-07-10 10:45:31 -0500
  • Nathan Briggs
    signed 2020-07-10 10:42:43 -0500
  • Hannah Fagan
    signed 2020-07-10 10:42:30 -0500