Demand Pardons for all Police Torture Survivors

Petition to Demand Governor Pritkzer Pardon All Police Torture Survivors

By the Campaign to Free All Incarcerated Survivors of Police Torture (CFIST), initiated by the Chicago Alliance Against Racist and Political Repression (click here for the list of CFIST endorsers)


Illinois is the only state in the United States that has a Torture Inquiry and Relief Commission (TIRC), created by statute and appointed by the Governor of Illinois, to address a systemic pattern of police torture of mostly Black and Latinx men going back to at least the 1980s.  Chicago is the only city in the United States that has, by city ordinance, apologized for this systemic torture and wrongful conviction of men and women. As part of the reparations package to address this grave injustice, public schools in Chicago are required to teach the history of Chicago police torture in 8th and 12th grades. 

However, many police torture survivors remain in prison decades later, serving life sentences without the possibility of parole. To date, 120 cases of police torture have been acknowledged by the Governor’s Torture Commission. Some of these men – like Gerald Reed – have had their original convictions vacated due to evidence of torture and still remain in prison while their cases wind their way through the courts – a process that can take 10-15 years!  On top of that, the Torture Commission has a backlog of 540 cases. At its current rate, the Commission will take another 50 years to review these cases. How many more wrongfully convicted men and women will die in prison in that time? 

Governor Pritzker has the power to right this wrong with the stroke of a pen and use his executive authority to release those who have been wrongfully convicted due to police torture. Governor Pritzker, the people of Illinois call on you to use your power and pardon all police torture survivors now, before it’s too late!

Who's signing

Lainie Keper
cody mazzarella
Becca Greenstein
Lori Niehaus
Myndi Schmid
Alex Wu
Jenny Scherer
Hannah Gelder
Adam McShane
James Gibbs
Ahtziri Barba
Heena Srivastava
Adrienne Stout
Meghan Krueger
Ian Erickson
Anthony Siraguse
Catheryn Broady
Susan Dreeben
Francisco Arellano
Sheila Brady
M. Catherine Buntin
billie rosman
Jenny Desch
Aaron Wolfson
Molly Surowitz
Bianca Phipps
Laura Nihill
Anna Yas
Anne Glaza
Eleena Ahmed
2,782 signatures

Will you sign?

Showing 1896 reactions

  • Lainie Keper
    signed 2020-10-21 09:28:55 -0500
  • cody mazzarella
    signed 2020-10-20 06:10:07 -0500
  • Becca Greenstein
    signed 2020-10-19 20:40:46 -0500
  • Lori Niehaus
    signed 2020-10-19 20:37:22 -0500
  • Myndi Schmid
    signed 2020-10-19 20:12:00 -0500
  • Alex Wu
    signed 2020-10-19 10:04:28 -0500
  • Jenny Scherer
    signed 2020-10-19 09:14:49 -0500
  • Hannah Gelder
    signed 2020-10-19 08:52:46 -0500
  • Adam McShane
    signed 2020-10-18 21:11:08 -0500
  • James Gibbs
    signed 2020-10-18 20:27:20 -0500
  • Ahtziri Barba
    signed 2020-10-18 19:40:08 -0500
  • Heena Srivastava
    signed 2020-10-18 19:30:22 -0500
  • Adrienne Stout
    signed 2020-10-18 19:05:36 -0500
  • Meghan Krueger
    signed 2020-10-18 19:05:12 -0500
  • Ian Erickson
    signed 2020-10-18 18:37:00 -0500
  • Anthony Siraguse
    signed 2020-10-18 18:31:46 -0500
  • Catheryn Broady
    signed 2020-10-18 18:25:28 -0500
  • Susan Dreeben
    signed 2020-10-18 18:20:53 -0500
  • Francisco Arellano
    signed 2020-10-18 18:12:38 -0500
  • Sheila Brady
    signed 2020-10-18 17:37:54 -0500
  • M. Catherine Buntin
    signed 2020-10-18 16:52:22 -0500
    This is pethetic. I sent a letter to Pritzker earlier this year and I spoke with the assistant in his Chicago office. She promised to give him our letter. With a Democrat Governor… we should not have to beg for justice for all who were wrongly accused. And, we need more well healed white folks to force this issue into the Chicago media. I have also written to co-anchors at Chicago Tonight to ask that they interview the Alliance leaders re: CPAC. Catherine
  • billie rosman
    signed 2020-10-18 16:40:25 -0500
  • Jenny Desch
    signed 2020-10-18 16:36:57 -0500
  • Aaron Wolfson
    signed 2020-10-18 16:35:20 -0500
  • Molly Surowitz
    signed 2020-10-18 16:17:59 -0500
  • Bianca Phipps
    signed 2020-10-18 16:14:57 -0500
  • Laura Nihill
    signed 2020-10-18 16:13:54 -0500
  • Anna Yas
    signed 2020-10-18 16:13:50 -0500
  • Anne Glaza
    signed 2020-10-18 12:14:41 -0500
  • Eleena Ahmed
    signed 2020-10-17 08:22:35 -0500